British F1: British Championship awards presented in Lincoln

British F1: British Championship awards presented in Lincoln

British F1: British Championship awards presented in Lincoln

Last Saturday 25th January saw the annual championship awards dinner and dance at the usual popular venue.

The Best Western Bentley Hotel between Newark and Lincoln provided a good setting once again, and excellent refreshments for what turned out to be an really good evening, voted by many as the best yet.

Celebrity guests included multiple TT winner and all-round hero John McGuinness, jovial and regular participant Steve Parrish, and our newly crowned, and now seven-times world sidecar champion Tim Reeves.

A packed room, a three-course meal, great sounding disco music, and a live band – The Bradeney Bunch from Shropshire, all contributed to a fun evening ahead of what is bound to be a fiercely contested 2020 season.

Master of ceremonies Glenn “Chalkie” Walsh opened the proceedings assisted by MC and TV commentator Barry Nutley.

Steve Parrish and John McGuinness then presented the awards to the glowing recipients, and proceeded to have a short interview and chat session. Finally series owner and main sponsor Roger Body rounded off the formalities with an exciting introduction of the new-look FIM World Championship, which he has been working on for many months. His effort and enthusiasm was acknowledged, and a huge round of applause from the room endorsed that.

The awards themselves went to proud recipients, with the Lewis Blackstock and Paddy Rosney scooping not only the third place trophies, but also the gold award for team presence in the paddock under the Barnes Racing Silicone Engineering banner.

Spectators choice award went to the fan’s favourite Chris “The Stalker” Walker, who along with Ashley Hawes had a great season with the TAG Racing/Santander Salt Yamaha.

Passenger of the Year was an extremely plucky Shelley Smithies, who after her big crash at Cadwell Park, bounced back in style with a strong year alongside Martin Kirk for a top ten finish.

For services to the sport, and an outstanding contribution to both the series and the Quattro Plant Kawasaki team, Vicky Rowsell of Somrow Construction Services was acknowledged to great applause as she collected the silver trophy.

Outgoing champions and runners-up Steve Kershaw and Stuart Clark accepted their award in traditional highland dress, and announced the retirement of Stuart, and welcomed his replacement, a young and eager Jason Pitt. The huge main trophy, and the ultimate accolade was collected by the new champions Todd Ellis and Charlie Richardson after a stunning year which delivered eleven victories.

All eyes are now on the 2020 season, as Roger Body announced his World Championship plans, with eight rounds scheduled, and only one clash. Many of the top crews from Britain are keen to enter, so this is an exciting development.

FIM Sidecar: World Sidecar Championship Calendar 2020 announced

FIM Sidecar: World Sidecar Championship Calendar 2020 announced

FIM Sidecar: World Sidecar Championship Calendar 2020 announced

RKB-F1 Motorsport in association with Santander Salt Ltd has reached an agreement with the FIM (the International governing body of motorcycle sport) whereby they have arrived at an eight round series across seven different countries for the 2020 FIM World Sidecar Championship.

This is the result of extensive discussions between new series promoter Roger Body, the FIM, the circuit organisers, and a large degree of cooperation and advice from German former ace driver Ralf Bohnhorst.

“Bohni” as he is affectionately known, has been very involved organising the series in recent years, building a sound platform from which to move forward.

The dates have been thrashed out with careful thought to selection of prime venues, each with a strong sidecar tradition. As we go to press, the calender is now cast in stone.

This marks a new era for what is the longest surviving world motorcycle championship still in its original format, with the capacity limit now exactly as it was way back in 1949 the inaugural year.

The RKB-F1 Motorsport team has a strong track record over ten years with the British Championship, arguably the most successful domestic series on the planet. This experience and enthusiasm will be brought to bear in cementing the FIM World Championship as the absolute pinnacle of sidecar circuit racing globally.

The new-look World series kicks off at the traditional EWC Endurance weekend at Le Mans. From there, the teams trek to the dramatic Lausitzring in Germany to join none other than the prestigious DTM German Touring Car Championship, before heading for the Hungarian Pannoniaring. There will then be a UK round with the BSB event at Brands Hatch in July.

Croatia and the Rijeka track come next, with the organisers obligingly shifting their date to late August. Assen comes next at the popular BSB fixture, then it’s off to the tried and tested Oschersleben for the penultimate clash, before the spectacular Estoril circuit in Portugal brings down the curtain on what is bound to be a brilliant season.

A title sponsor is yet to be named, but negotiations are in full swing in that direction, and it is anticipated that grids will be full, so the spectacle will be high.

There will be a continuation of the television coverage the series has enjoyed thus far, and maximum exposure track-side.

This venture marks the re-emergence of sidecar racing at the highest level, and is just the beginning for the RKB-F1 team in this arena.

Administration and entries for this championship, as with the British series, will be by Mike Dommett and his Bemsee organisation. Communication has already gone to all top teams on his radar, but for crews interested in registering for the FIM World Championship, then contact details are as follows:-

Mike Dommett, CEO BMCRC (Bemsee)
Email –
Telephone – 01708 720305
Mobile – 07979 963572

Dates are:-
April 18-19 – Le Mans France EWC Endurance
May 16-17 – Lausitzring Germany DTM Championship
June 27-28 – Pannoniaring Hungary Alpe Adria Series
July 25-26 – Brands Hatch UK BSB
August 29-30 – Rijeka Croatia
September 17-20 – Assen Holland BSB
October 3-4 – Oschersleben Germany
October 24-25 – Estoril Portugal

Pin It on Pinterest